The pieces on this final program are linked by the composers' desire to honor others. Mozart's Quartet in G Major, the first of the "Haydn Quartets," was dedicated to the composer's friend and mentor. The whimsical yet reflective Shostakovich Quartet No. 11 commemorates the second violinist of the Beethoven Quartet, the ensemble that had premiered most of Shostakovich’s earlier string quartets. A commission for Prince Nikolai Golitzin, the massive Beethoven Quartet in C-sharp minor, concludes the concert.
 “(Pacifica’s) sunny vivaciousness, tonal coloring and emotional honesty brought out the music vividly.”Pittsburgh Gazette


2:00 pm lecture with Patrick Fitzgibbon
3:00 pm concert
Mozart: Quartet in G Major, K. 387
Shostakovich: Quartet No. 11 in F minor, Op. 122
Beethoven: Quartet in C-sharp minor, Op. 131
Pacifica Quartet
Sunday, April 24, 2016 - 3:00pm
Performance Hall, Reva and David Logan Center for the Arts
915 E. 60th Street Chicago, IL 60637
Additional Materials: 
$30 / $5 students
Buy Tickets via Phone: