Grossman Ensemble

The newly formed Grossman Ensemble is a key component of the Chicago Center for Contemporary Composition’s performance series, supported by the Sanford J. Grossman Charitable Trust. The ensemble is comprised of 13 of the nation’s leading contemporary music  specialists. Members of the Grossman Ensemble include Tim Munro, flute; Andrew Nogal, oboe; Katie Schoepflin, clarinet; Taimur Sullivan, saxophone; Matthew Oliphant, horn; Greg Beyer, percussion; John Corkill, percussion; Ben Melsky, harp; Daniel Pesca, piano; and Spektral Quartet (Clara Lyon and Maeve Fineberg, violin; Doyle Armbrust, viola; Russell Rolen, cello.)

Over the course of each season, the Grossman Ensemble will participate in three performances at the Logan Center for Arts, each with a focus on the process of creating new work. There will be eight rehearsals leading up to each performance, enabling composers to write, workshop, and review new works in close collaboration with the ensemble. The public will be invited to attend an open rehearsal prior to each concert, allowing them unprecedented access to the creative process. The ensemble will workshop and perform 12 world premieres by University of Chicago faculty, students, and guest composers in the inaugural concert season.

The Grossman Ensemble performs on Friday, December 7, Friday, March 15, and Friday, June 7 as part of the Contemporary Series. 

Learn more about the Grossman Ensemble and other activities of the Chicago Center for Contemporary Composition here.