Jean-Guihen Queyras


Tuesday, October 15, 2013 - 7:30pm
“The French cellist’s tone is light and fragrant. He plays with not only a sense of pert 18th century but also a modernity as if this were music newly composed.” -Los Angeles Times

The virtuoso French cellist, recently named Instrumental Soloist of the Year by the French Classical Music Awards, makes his UChicago debut with a virtuoso program: Bach’s spiritual and intimate work for unaccompanied cello, Britten’s passionate suite written for the great Rostropovich, and concluding with Kodaly’s sonata, considered as among the greatest works written for cello.


7:30 pm Concert Program
Bach: Cello Suite No. 1 in G Major, BWV 1007
Britten: Cello Suite No. 1, Op. 72 (1964)
Kodály: Sonata in B Minor, Op. 8

Performance Title: 

Jean-Guihen Queyras, cello


Jean-Guihen Queyras, cello


Tuesday, October 15, 2013 - 7:30pm


Performance Hall, Reva and David Logan Center for the Arts


915 E 60th St Chicago, IL 60637

Additional Materials: 


$25 / $5 students