University of Chicago Chamber Orchestra


Saturday, November 16, 2013 - 8:00pm

This concert remembers the anniversaries of two composers who altered the course of music history, Richard Wagner and Benjamin Britten. Siegfried Idyll is Wagner at his most intimate; the piece is a musical gift to his wife on the birth of their son Siegfried. Britten's Simple Symphony is a work for strings with character-rich movements that exploit the full expressive and technical range of the string orchestra. Closing out the concert is Britten's Suite on English Folk Tunes, subtitled "A Time There Was". This late work of Britten is a contemplative but provocative look back to a time of innocence.

The University Chamber Orchestra is a 30-member ensemble of strings, woodwinds, and horns that specializes in Baroque, Classical, and 20th-century repertoire for smaller orchestra.

Performance Title: 

University Chamber Orchestra


University Chamber Orchestra; Robert Whalen, conductor


Saturday, November 16, 2013 - 8:00pm


Performance Hall, Reva and David Logan Center for the Arts


915 E. 60th Street Chicago, IL 60637



Buy Tickets via Phone: 

For event information, contact the Music Department: 773.702.8484