Concert Stream – SOUND/SITES: John Corkill, percussion

John Corkill headshot

May 27, 2021 | 7:00PM

$15 | Free for UChicago Students

This concert premieres at 7 pm CDT on Thursday, May 27 and will be available until 11:59 pm CDT on Monday, May 31.

Augusta Read Thomas: Bebop Riddle
Marta Ptaszyńska: Spider Walk
Tonia Ko: Breath, Contained
Seung-Won Oh: Circle
Kyong Mee Choi: Flowerlips
Augusta Read Thomas: Enchanted Invocation
Michael Burritt: The Offering

Percussionist John Corkill aims to orient himself at the intersection between avant-garde new music and the general public. As a part of UChicago Presents' SOUND/SITES series in collaboration with the Department of Music, Corkill sculpts wonderful, curiosity-sparking performances that showcase the unique architecture at the University of Chicago. With drums, cymbals, chimes, bubble wrap, wood blocks, gongs, and more, Corkill takes advantage of the shapes, spaces, and surfaces of Mansueto Library and Saieh Hall to create one-of-a-kind musical experiences featuring the work of composers with deep ties to Chicago.

Presented in partnership with the Department of Music.