CSO Chamber Music at the University of Chicago

CSO Chamber Music

$30 | $24 UC Faculty & Staff | $20 under 35 | $10 Student

UChicago Students: request a free ticket (limit 25)

Music in the Vernacular

Stravinsky: Concertino for String Quartet
Dvořák: String Quartet No. 14 in A-flat Major Op. 105
Tchaikovsky: Souvenir de Florence

Join us in exploring Music in the Vernacular during a pre-concert lecture with Associate Professor Steven Rings and post-concert discussion with the artists moderated by Professor Rings.

The Chicago Symphony Orchestra responds to Professor Steven Rings’ prompt to explore music of the vernacular. In this chamber music program, musicians from the CSO take on Stravinsky’s Concertino, written while he was living in a fishing village in France; Dvořák’s String Quartet No. 14 featuring a lively syncopation related to a Czech stomping dance, and Tchaikovsky’s Souvenir de Florence with distinctly Russian folk-like melodies.