Michael Brown – Beethoven's Legacy

Michael Brown

December 4, 2020 | 7:00PM

$15 | Free for UChicago Students

Subscribers: call the UChicago Arts Box Office at 773.702.2787 to use available credit. Leave your name, callback number, and a time when you can be reached.

Ludwig van Beethoven: Sonata No. 8 in C Minor, Op. 13 (Pathétique)
Haydn: Fantasia in C Major, Hob. XVII:4 (Capriccio)
Debussy: Hommage à Haydn
Ravel: Menuet sur le nom d’Haydn

Michael Brown: Etude-Fantasy on the Name of Haydn (world premiere)
Mendelssohn: Variations sérieuses, Op. 54
Ludwig van Beethoven/Franz Liszt: 
Adelaïde, Op. 46
Beethoven: Sonata No. 14 in C-sharp Minor, Op. 27, No. 2,
Quasi una Fantasia (Moonlight)

This stream will premiere at 7:00 pm CT on Friday, December 4, and can be viewed until 11:59 pm CT on Sunday, December 6.

Beethoven's influence on music is boundless. Pianist and Avery Fisher Career Grant recipient Michael Brown explores that legacy in this program featuring two of Beethoven’s masterworks alongside music by and tributes to the composer’s teacher, Haydn, and Mendelssohn’s Variations sérieuses, a memorial to Beethoven.

This engagement is supported by the Arts Midwest Touring Fund, a program of Arts Midwest that is funded by the National Endowment for the Arts, with additional contributions from the Illinois Arts Council and the Crane Group.